"Very positive. oud recommend this hospital"

About: Darent Valley Hospital

What I liked

The Staff in both the Rapid Access Clinic and the Day Care Unit, where I had my operation, were both friendly and professional. The speed with which the hospital followed up my referral from my GP.

What could be improved

There appeared to be a hiccup with theatre scheduling. The consultant had said he hoped the operation would take place within a month and he had ticked urgent on the form. I realise that is not always possible but after a month I still hadn't received a date from them. I did try phoning but always seemed to get the voice mail (5 attempts over two days (6 and 7 June) and trying every extension each time) it was getting a bit frustrating not been able to talk to anyone and I was beginning to suspect that the phones went to voicemail automatically.

However, I then used the contact form on the web site to query why I hadn't heard and someone phoned me back within an hour to arrange a date for the 18 June, which was a quick response once I had manged to speak to them. But I am still not sure whether I somehow fell through the net or not hearing after a month is within normal timescales.

It might be helpful if patients had some idea of when they should expect to hear from Theatre Scheduling?

Anything else?

my GP referred me to Darent Valley and within two days of the referral the hospital phoned me to offer me an appointment with the sonsultant on 1 May - approx a week and a half from seeing my GP. i was impressed by this as I had thought it would be longer.

Both the Consultant and Nurses in the Rapid Access Clinic were friendly and professional explaining everything to me in clear terms. As the clinic was running late the nurses were also very good at keeping patients informed about the waiting times and even made tea/coffee for us while we waited (proper tea as well not from a machine).

I needed to have an operation in the Day Care Unit and after the hiccup mentioned above, this was arranged for 18 June. Again I found the staff friendly and professional. I must specifically mention the nurse in Day Care assigned to look after me. She was always cheerful and friendly and explained clearly what would happen at each stage. This despite, from what I could see, being rushed off her feet.

This was the first time I had been a patient at Darent Valley although I have had relatives who have been treated there. I had no complaints about their treatment and I am impressed with the treatment I received, so would have no hesitation in recommending it.

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››

Responses

Response from Darent Valley Hospital

Thank you for your comments and feedback. We are very sorry that you had a problem originally contacting the Theatre Scheduling Department but were pleased to read that it was all sorted in the end promptly. The departments and staff you have mentioned have been informed of your kind words and we wish you a speedy recovery.

  • {{helpful}} of {{total()}} people think this response is helpful