"Care, or lack of it , given to my mother on several stays at Larkfield unit "

About: Larkfield Unit

(as a relative),

The auxiliary staff I came into contact with were unhelpful and dismissive. Buzzers were being ignored or patients told to wait as they were busy and would return asap. Which they rarely did. I complained to senior nurse about my mothers buzzer being placed out of her reach, hearing aids not being put in, her teeth not brushed, hair not combed, requests for toilet visit ignored and finding my mother very distressed as she had soiled herself.

Nurses seemed so understaffed that it was impossible for them to give the time required to attend to the needs of elderly patients who were hard of hearing or took longer to respond. Due to her level of disability I spent many hours on ward with my mother every day. I witnessed many incidents that I found totally unacceptable.

I do understand that staff have a very difficult job to do under stressful conditions. Most of the nurses I met were kind, caring and doing a fantastic job, however the auxiliary staff were another matter entirely.

Over the last 5 or more years my mother has been in Larkfield unit several times. Improvement is something I hope for but have yet to see.

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››

Responses

Response from Paul Cannon, Head of Administration, Acute Services Division, Greater Glasgow & Clyde NHS

I was very sorry to read that your experience of your mother's care in the Larkfield Unit was so negative and that you had a range of concerns about how her care was being provided.

I have passed this posting on to the Director responsible for the service provided in that Unit so that she is aware of these concerns and can take these forward with staff in the Unit.

It would be very helpful, however, to have some more detail so that we can investigate this more fully, and respond to you formally.

If you are able to provide these details to

complaints@ggc.scot.nhs.uk

This will allow us to take these forward.

Thank you for sharing your experience, I very much hope that you are able to provide more detail so that we can discuss these concerns with you and seek to improve matters for your mother, and for other patients.

Paul

  • {{helpful}} of {{total()}} people think this response is helpful