"Birth of my child"

About: Lister Hospital / Maternity

(as the patient),

My waters broke at 11: 00 pm. I rushed to lister hospital. Was admitted all night and everything monitored that needed to be. In the morning about 09: 00 I was seen by a doctor who they advised I be induced. I took the advise and induction was started about 11: 00 am. I was then seen by another doctor who I also explained to my concerns about not wanting the induction. The doctor explained to me why it was being done and I carried on although my mind was mixed up as I was not really for it.

Then at about just after 13: 00pm, another doctor walked in with some other members if staff and explained to me that they were not happy I had been induced and thought it had been too early for it to be done. I then expressed my feelings to this registrar and said I was not happy at all with the way things were being done. 3 doctors all telling me different things was not what I wanted. This doctor then said to me that it's unfortunate different people do things in different ways. This was a statement that upset me and made me feel I was not in the right hands. The doctor then gave me the option of them stopping the drip and me going into labour by myself or going for a cesarean section. I was upset and told them to stop the drip and take me straight for a section.

I was then taken to the theatre a few minutes to 20: 00pm. I was in theatre for more than 3 hours. The experience I had was traumatising and has put me off having anymore children. This is because during the operation it was discovered that 3 of my organs had been attached and this was explained to me that it was caused by my previous caesearen operation with my first baby. At one point the doctor who was carrying out the operation would not go ahead and asked for another doctor to come and give a hand. I was terribly worried at this point about my baby. As the operation was being carried out I also started to feel the pain even after being given an epidural. I informed the team and was then given a local anaesthetic.

I came out of theatre and was ok with the baby although I was kept in for 4 nights because blood was still draining out.

At the ward it was a nightmare, apart from very few staff, some of the staff I came into contact with there are very unhelpful. I was given a buzzer but hardly ever when I did call out for help would staff come. If they did come that would be after 30 minutes plus. Very disappointing especially when your have a bottle attached to you draining out blood and people who should be caring don't seem bothered at all. I did experience my concern to the midwife who discharged me.

I am therefore seeking advice on how I can go about requesting for a full report regarding my stay at the hospital and operation inclusive.

I am also happy for this to be shared with the relevant parties.

Looking forward to your assistance.

Kind regards

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from East and North Hertfordshire NHS Trust

We know that you posted this comment on NHS Choices a couple of days ago, to which we have responded already expressing our concern at your account of what happened and offering to get it followed up by asking you to contact us directly.

In case you have not picked that response up yet on NHS Choices, you can e-mail us directly on generalenquiries.enh-tr@nhs.net. We hope you do get in touch because we know that our midwifery team is keen to speak with you so that they can address all the issues that you have raised.