"Manfield Day Surgery at Northampton"

About: Northampton General Hospital (Acute)

(as the patient),

Earlier this month (June 06) I went in for an operation on my elbow. The care I received from the nurses was great, just the right amount of informality and instruction. The pre-op bit was good too with plenty of explanation on what was about to happen. When I came round I was looked after really well (in the end it must have cost a fortune in cups of tea etc).

At discharge, things weren't quite so good. They had forgotten to sign my sick note (still not received after a week!) no date set for my post-op appointment and very little info on what I should and shouldn't do.

One week on and I am trying to get the sick note and check the date for the post-op and the poor staff can't help - they have no record of the sick note (fair enough, they would have thousands if they kept copies) and no appointment has yet been recorded on the computer.

Good advice about seeing the nurse at the GP to get the stitches out if no appointment turns up, but I feel a bit left out in the cold, and concerned that I'll go back to work tomorrow and find that a sick note will arrive saying I should be off for 2 weeks.

So overall a much better experience than I expected especially on the "human" side (staff on the ward were great) but a bit fed up about the finishing bits.

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Northampton General Hospital

Thank you for taking the time to send us your comments on the time you spent with us prior to, during and following your operation.

You have not told me which ward you were on so I have brought the issue of sick certificates to the attention of all wards and day units through the Head Nurses.

It is reassuring that we seem to be getting the right balance with the information and advice that we are giving to patients.