"Poor care at Northern General"

About: Northern General Hospital / Accident and emergency Northern General Hospital / General surgery Yorkshire Ambulance Service NHS Trust

(as the patient),

Following excellent treatment from paramedics I was taken to A&E - I was in extreme pain and required strong analgesia. Cocodamol was given to no effect.

I was taken to surgical assessment with no explanation of where I was going so I was worried that I was going to have surgery. I had actually gone there so that medics did not have to walk as far.

Taken to a ward again with no explanation where or why. Told I was there to mobilise. I said I had no need of mobilisation help as it was only pain preventing me from walking.

After 5 days of extreme pain plus dehydration and weight loss of 5lb due to inedible food I went home relying on crutches. I kept telling staff that I had Lupus but I felt no notice was taken of this and majority of staff seemed to have no knowledge of the significance of my illness.

Communication was very poor, some staff I met were surly and dismissive, and many elderly ladies on the ward seemed frightened to ask staff for basic nursing care as they felt this would lead to their buzzers being taken away.

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Sheffield Teaching Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust

Thank you for telling us about your recent experience at the Northern General Hospital.

We are very sorry to hear that there were a number of elements of your care that you were unhappy with, and your description does not meet with the standards of care we strive to provide. We would be very grateful if you would provide us more information by contacting our Patient Services Team on 0114 271 3085 or email PST@sth.nhs in order for us to investigate the concerns you have raised.