"try haltwhistle first"

About: Haltwhistle War Memorial Hospital

What I liked

i am a long distance lorry driver, away from home from 4.30 am monday until sat, anytime, and when i contracted a mouth infection i contacted my local dentist, (unavailable) nhs dentist direct, (two dentists on holiday, ring back in 4 days), carlisle hospital, (unable to treat a dental problem),haltwhistles dentist was fully booked also,

i didnt know what my next option was, i hadnt slept in two days and only had two cup a soups a breakaway(other choccy bics are available) and a piece of cake i could squash in the corner of my mouth and suck ,to eat in two days, my boss a haltwhistle man born and bred said park the wagon and go to haltwhistle hospital, where is it ? do they have a A & E ? will they treat me ? is it open ?

by now i am in a lot of pain almost unable to move my jaw, and its only thursday and i can ring carlisle on the off chance after 6 pm on saturday, as they have 3 hour surgery at night ?

so i attended haltwhistle hospital with as much faith in NHS as a hare at a greyhound meeting, i entered the wrong part i was shown to the right area seen within ten minutes treated given painkillers and amoxycillin, and treated not only as a person but a friend, within one hour the pain was subsiding after two i was able to eat real food and carry on to have full nights sleep, i am so glad i visited haltwhistle hospital, a hospital that does what hospitals do exactly what it says on the tin ,treat people. 4 hours wasted on phone speaking we cant and we dont people, and treated in minutes by someone that understands human life, oh and guess what i was delivering to preston the next day?, containers for hospital cleaning products !

What could be improved

improve nhs dentists direct, as opposed to nhs dentists dolittle, and have your telephonists understand what the public are saying to them

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››

Responses

Response from Haltwhistle War Memorial Hospital

Thank you for your comments posted on this website concerning the care given to you at Haltwhistle War Memorial Hospital.

The Trust was sorry to hear of your condition and would like to advise that the Dental Service and NHS Direct are not part of Northumbria Healthcare NHS Foundation and as such we cannot comment upon these services.

However, we were pleased to hear about your experience at Haltwhistle War Memorial Hospital and trust that the care provided to you enabled you to continue with your work until an appointment at your normal dentist could be made. Patient and carer feedback is always important and we will make sure the staff concerned are aware of your comments.

Thank you for taking the time to write.