"Upset over transport to Monklands "

About: Monklands District General Hospital / General Medicine Scottish Ambulance Service

(as a relative),

Family member was booked on transport to hospital with escort as they were very frail. The car that came only had no place for escort. Calls were made by driver back to office. We were told escort was not on the list but there was room in car. She went her self and did have a lot of problems finding her way about due to poor eye sight and hearing. But staff at Hospital did check up only to find it had been booked, all were upset and there was room in car going back for escort. It is sad this happens as two very frail people were left to worry about each other for four hours. What can be done to make sure this stop now.

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››

Responses

Response from Sharon Hammell, Head of Corporate Affairs and Engagement, Scottish Ambulance Service

Thank you for letting us know about the experience of your family member attending an appointment at Monklands Hospital.

I apologise for the distress caused to you and your family due to the problem experienced around travelling with an escort. I'm also sorry we weren't able to resolve the issue on the day.

If the medical needs of a patient require the patient to be accompanied by an escort, the Scottish Ambulance Service should accomodate such a request. If you experience a similar problem again, would you mind completing a complaint form on the Scottish Ambulance Service website, at the link below, so we can follow this up for you, and find out exactly what happened.

http://www.scottishambulance.com/Content/emailcomplaint.aspx?Dept=Complaints%20Department

  • {{helpful}} of {{total()}} people think this response is helpful

Update posted by king (a relative)

Thank you for your reply about complaint.

But why did it happen in the first place as I have been told this is an ongoing problem?

Response from Sharon Hammell, Head of Corporate Affairs and Engagement, Scottish Ambulance Service

Hello again

I think the best way to take this forward is for me to get more information from you, so we can follow this up in detail.

Would you mind calling me on:

0131 314 0065.

  • {{helpful}} of {{total()}} people think this response is helpful

Update posted by king (a relative)

Thank you I will get all the information and phone next week.