"No concern for your life outside the hospital or..."

About: Colchester General Hospital

What I liked

The Consultant and his team were fantastic, my treatment and aftercare were explained in full I was seen by him before and after my surgery very promptly.

What could be improved

The information I was given regarding times of operation and care by the pre op assessment nurse and the nursing staff on copford ward. It was at best mis leading and at worst complete fabrication of the truth.

I was told that it was essential I had someone to collect me from the hospital after surgery I therefore arranged this for the times I was told arranging care for my dependants around these times. In reality these times were not adhered to as I now know this is not the way the ward is run.

This resulted in me having to make many phone calls to rearrange the carefully made plans. Which were treated with contempt by nursing staff on the ward.

Details of what I was told. Arrive 7:30. Operation approx 9am. Discharge 11:30-12.

What happened arrived 7:20 operation 11:37. Discharge 14:45.

Clearly some difference in times. Even the staff on the ward after the operation could not agree 1 nurse told me I could leave as soon as I had food,drink, and had passed water. I did this, left alone to walk back from the bathroom. Got dressed called my friend to collect me to be told by another nurse I had to wait until my waiting time was up? The discharge nurse then proceeded to contradict the advice given my the consultant regarding aftercare and was rude. She also forgot to give me my doctors certificate for work. When I called to ask if it could be posted to me I believe from the voice the same nurse very abruptly said its already in the post and hung up.

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Colchester General Hospital

We are committed to improving the experience of our patients. Clearly you have not had a good patient experience for which I apologise.

Please contact me by email, so that we can attempt to put things right for the future.

Rossa Baker

Matron for Ambulatory Care (inc. Copford Ward)


We always suggest the following steps if someone has a concern to raise:

1. If something is not right, ask to see the person in charge. They should be able to sort out the problem straight away.

2. Or ask to speak to the Patient Advice & Liaison Service (PALS) or the Duty Matron.

3. If you are still not satisfied, please write to the Chief Executive at the hospital.

PALS (office hours): Freephone 0800 783 7328 pals@colchesterhospital.nhs.uk

The Duty Matron can be contacted 24 hours a day, via switchboard: 01206 747474

  • {{helpful}} of {{total()}} people think this response is helpful