"An awful experience."

About: National Hospital for Neurology & Neurosurgery, Queen Square

What I liked


What could be improved

All aspects of care.

Anything else?

I am had surgery at the NHNN and upon recovery I shall be making a formal complaint to the NHS at all levels.

The treatment I received from the nursing staff in the Lady Allderton Five Day Ward was revolting.

From the lack of cleanliness (dirty bandages left on the floor of the shared bathrooms for over 24 hours - I know this to be true as they were mine: a nurse took them off me in the toilets as they had forgotten to do so in the operating theatre, and they were still there the following day) to the complete confusion from entering to leaving (when I should be fasting, what the operation was, when I should be leaving, what medication I had been prescribed, etc) to the downright nastiness of the disinterested nurses the 48 hour experience was harrowing. In the short time I was in the hospital I was refused a box of tissues post surgery as they had “run out”, (!) an ice pack for my wounds having had a failed piece of machinery removed from my back in two places and was told I was not allowed to see a doctor; they would send me a letter for a follow up in six weeks.

This ward needs to be seriously investigated by the NHS and/or another outside party to ensure that patients are not continued to be treated this way.

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from National Hospital for Neurology & Neurosurgery, Queen Square

We are extremely sorry to hear about your recent experience on our ward, and would like to look into these issues further.

The ward sister has discussed with the Nursing team the points you have mentioned, and would like to suggest you contact PALS with further details of when this happened. PALS can be contacted on 020 3447 3042 or by email to pals@uclh.nhs.uk