"Avoid at all costs dont no what they are talking..."

About: Peterlee Community Hospital

What I liked


What could be improved

I attended this hospital for the urgent care centre following the fact my uncle fell 15ft from a ladder at work injuring his foot the triage nurse didnt have a clue what she was doing and said that there was nothing wrong with it the pain was just a little bit of artheritis due to my uncles age 54 and everyone over 40 gets a bit arthritis every now and again fair enough if thats all it was they sent him for an xray anyway telling him if anything was wrong the specialist would ring him then sent him home with paracetamol.

The next day the specialist rang saying that the xray showed a small fracture and told him to go to sunderland hospital.

on arriving at sunderland they did further xrays which showed that his heel was actually shattered and he would need a operation to repair it as it was that badly damaged he spent nearly a fortnight in hospital because of this so called arthritis peterlee ucc is a disgrace i think they need some new staff as this isnt the first time they messed up.

im pregnant and developed a rash on my back so went there to get it checked they told me it was a heat rash and gave me steroid cream to rub on which i thought i would get second opinion on as d heard about this being dangerous when i spoke to my midwife its just as well i didnt use it as steroid based creams are dangerous in pregnancy much better to use anti histamines.

totally lost faith in this place avoid avoid avoid

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Peterlee Community Hospital

We are sorry that you felt let down by your experience at Peterlee Community Hospital. Unfortunately we are unable to address your concerns because we do not provide this particular service. However if you wish to speak to someone about your concerns please follow this link http://www.cdd.nhs.uk/access-to-services/patient-advice-and-complaints which gives you information about who you can contact. Thank you for taking the trouble to leave a comment on NHS Choices.

  • {{helpful}} of {{total()}} people think this response is helpful