"very very poor"

About: Queen Elizabeth Hospital (Gateshead)

What I liked

the treatment and after care of my mother was nothing short of disgraceful. no one explained what they had done to her she was given incorrect information was told her stitches would come out their own 23 days after her operation she was in so much pain went to gp found out stitch should have been removed after 8 days. gp removed ten stiches was told by doctor she would only have 2or 3 stitches. she still doesn't know what they have actually done to her. it was not what she was told before operation. they were chucking patients out of their beds on the ward after they had major surgery to get day patients in avoid this hospital if at all possible. we shall be making a formal complaint and our gp will also be contacting them about my mothers treatment.

What could be improved

everything offers an appalling service

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Queen Elizabeth Hospital

Thank you for providing feedback on your experience of the Queen Elizabeth Hospital. I’m sorry you were unhappy with the treatment your mother received and therefore feel unable to recommend the hospital on this occasion.

I am concerned about the issues you have raised and would like these to be investigated thoroughly.

As you have specifically mentioned making a formal complaint I would encourage you to contact our Patient Advice and Liaison Service (PALS) on 0800 953 0667.

Once again thank you for providing feedback for us.

Ian Renwick

Chief Executive of Gateshead Health NHS Foundation Trust

  • {{helpful}} of {{total()}} people think this response is helpful