"Worst experience in a hospital in my entire life!"

About: Tameside General Hospital

What I liked

I liked that someone had the mind to put the tv on as it drowned the noise of people snoring out.

What could be improved

I went to the PIU for a adrenal glands test. I got there to find a small room full of paitents and a few visiting relatives, bare in mind this was not a ward, so I had to stand outside. When the nurse did turn up she had to ask the visiting relatives to go get a drink as I needed to sit down on what looked like a waiting room seat. The nurse taking my blood did not wear gloves, she couldn't find a vein but put the needle in my arm regardless. She went to get another nurse and she managed to get my blood first time although by this time I was getting more and more upset as the other paitents were all watching me. Then came the cortisol injection. I went behind a thin curtain and asked could I have it in my arm as I prefer intramuscular injections in my arm as they hurt less. The nurse told me no as you can't do IM injections in the arm. My mum, a nurse herself, was gobsmacked when I told her this when I got home. Anyway, I didn't wish to cause a fuss as the room was crowded and I did not want to upset anyone else there. She them told me to pull down my pants and underwear, me being a teenage girl was humiliated by this as in the room there was at least 3 older gentlemen, two on either side of the bed. After the painfull injection I was told I'd just have to wait half an hour have more blood took and then I could go. I waited nearly an hour before someone came to take my blood again, then I waited some more for the first nurse to come and tell me I could've gone before. I left feeling degraded and humiliated, so I put a complaint in but I have heard nothing and now I have to go back to this ward today for the same thing and I'm dreading it as I don't know if I will be treated even worse this time because I dared to complain.

Anything else?

I would like to remind the NHS, Tameside general hospital and the PIU that in their 'consitution' the following is said -" You have the right to be treated with dignity and respect..." and next to it "The right to dignity and respectis established by the European Convention on Human Rights (ECHR). The ECHR is designed to protect human rights... The right to dignity includes a right not to be subjected to inhuman or degrading treatment. The right to respect includes the right to respect for a private and family life"

I felt degraded by my treatment and I had no privacy so these rights were infringed. If I didn't have to go back I wouldn't as I don't want an audience watching blood coming out of my arm or people listening to a nurse telling me to pull my pants down. I do not expect anything to come of the complaints either as obviously the hospital encouraged this kind of treatment for its paitents.

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››

Responses

Response from Philip Dylak, Director of Nursing, Tameside Hospital Foundation Trust

Thank you for this posting. I was very disappointed indeed to receive it and I am very sorry that you have had cause to complain about your care and treatment, and the circumstances in which it was delivered.

Tameside Hospital expects all patients to be treated with dignity and respect, whatever department they are in, and whatever treatment they have come to the hospital to receive. I would wish to assure you that t is not true that the hospital encourages the kind of treatment you describe for its patients.

I am not sure who you addressed your complaint to, but I would very much wish to investigate the issues you have identified, which clearly need to be challenged and corrected. If you could please send your details to me at philip.dylak@tgh.nhs.uk marking your email “PIU complaint” I will deal with the matter myself.

Kind regards

Philip Dylak

DIRECTOR OF NURSING

“Would you like to help the hospital to improve its services further? We are currently looking for patients and carers to become involved in a development called “Patient Stories”. We want to know more about our services from the point of view of those who received them – what was good, bad, what could be improved, what should be changed. Want to know more about what’s involved?

Please contact Philip Dylak, Director of Nursing at philip.dylak@tgh.nhs.uk

  • {{helpful}} of {{total()}} people think this response is helpful

Response from Tameside General Hospital

Thank you for this posting. I was very disappointed indeed to receive it and I am very sorry that you have had cause to complain about your care and treatment, and the circumstances in which it was delivered. Tameside Hospital expects all patients to be treated with dignity and respect, whatever department they are in, and whatever treatment they have come to the hospital to receive. I would wish to assure you that t is not true that the hospital encourages the kind of treatment you describe for its patients. I am not sure who you addressed your complaint to, but I would very much wish to investigate the issues you have identified, which clearly need to be challenged and corrected. If you could please send your details to me at philip.dylak@tgh.nhs.uk marking your email “PIU complaint” I will deal with the matter myself.

Kind regards

Philip Dylak

DIRECTOR OF NURSING

“Would you like to help the hospital to improve its services further? We are currently looking for patients and carers to become involved in a development called “Patient Stories”. We want to know more about our services from the point of view of those who received them – what was good, bad, what could be improved, what should be changed. Want to know more about what’s involved?

Please contact Philip Dylak, Director of Nursing at philip.dylak@tgh.nhs.uk

  • {{helpful}} of {{total()}} people think this response is helpful