"My experience was stressful."

About: Corbett Hospital

What I liked

This is a comment from a relative of a patient.I accompanied my husband to the Day Surgery unit for a procedure on his back.The surgeon who did this was excellent,very skilled and professional and we have no complaints in this regard.

What could be improved

It did seem a bit like a production line at times. Granted the surgery was busy,but you did feel like you were being 'processed' - I overheard one nurse refer to 'the first batch'. People are individuals and some were anxious - a more personal touch might be nice.

Anything else?

I was very distressed to find that I was barred from being on the ward with my husband prior to and following his surgery.I was made to sit in the waiting room where as the time ticked past I became visibly upset,but even though this was noticed by staff,it seems this policy of 'no relatives on the ward' is inflexible.Although I appreciate that hoards of people around a bed is unacceptable,I fail to see what harm it would have done to allow a wife to sit with her husband.I did explain that hospitals distress me and that I was worried,but it did not seem to matter - I felt 'surplus to requirements'. Perhaps this policy could be made more flexible,it does seem a bit callous.

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Corbett Hospital

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments about your experience at our hospital while your husband was a day surgery patient.

We are disappointed to hear about your negative experience while you were waiting for him to be treated and discharged and we would like to apologise for the distress you felt while sitting in the waiting area.

Unfortunately, because the day case surgery unit at Corbett Hospital is so small with only curtains between each patient and screens to separate male and female patients, we do ask patients family to remain in the waiting area. This also helps to preserve other patients’ privacy and dignity while they are treated. Once patients are admitted, if they wish, they can wait in the reception area with their relatives until they are ready for surgery.

We appreciate it is an anxious time for relatives however we try to keep them updated as much as possible.

As part of our ongoing commitment to improve patient and visitor experience, your feedback will be forwarded to the matron of the unit who will discuss the points you have raised with her team.

  • {{helpful}} of {{total()}} people think this response is helpful