"Awful."

About: Royal Berkshire Hospital

What I liked

Not much at all, the Nurses were kind

What could be improved

Had to queue in the corridor to book in to out patients for breast clinic, which was being held in General Surgery Outpatients, and not signposted, so had to ask. The waiting area was being used by 2 other clinics and there was not enough space for everyone there. The light in the female toilet was not working but the staff were constantly busy so could not be informed.

Total lack of information, at nearly every level, had to walk through the hospital to Xray with a form with a diagram of the femal form printed on it, which was not placed in an envelope of folder to protect privacy and dignity, was not warned that a proceedure could cause nerve pain for some time afterward.

Should have seen consultant for test results but was seen by nurse instead, Dr was asked to see me but did not, because he was too busy, only got an appointment to see Dr because I made complaint. Appointment to see Dr is just 2 days before surgery, when I have expressed that I am not sure that I want this Dr to come near me with a knife, So much more, that I forget bits of it.

Anything else?

Do not come to this hospital for Breast Clinic, go somewhere you will be treated like a human being rather than a cattle going to market.

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››

Responses

Response from Royal Berkshire Hospital

We are sorry that you have experienced disappointing care at the Royal Berkshire Hospital – the Breast Clinic is an incredibly busy unit and because of the urgent nature of the clinical need, the health care team try to see as many patients as possible with timely referral for surgery (where necessary). The matron for the area will pass on your concerns regarding the wayfinding issues but we encourage you to contact the Trust so that we can look into the detail of all the issues you have raised. We welcome patient and public feedback and take all issues raised seriously. If a patient or relative is uncomfortable raising concerns within the department where they are seen we would encourage them to contact our PALS/Patient Relations team (0118 322 8338 or talktous@royalberkshire.nhs.uk) to action change and investigate as appropriate.

  • {{helpful}} of {{total()}} people think this response is helpful