"would only get me there unconcious next time!"

About: Chesterfield Royal Hospital

What I liked

sat thinking about this and honestly nothing

What could be improved

everything-was shocked at how poor this place is.

had an experience a few years ago and thought some improvements might have been made but not so.

it may have improved to the eye but i think the lack of care,interest is unbelievable.

This was my finding of a/e and surgical assessment and if these guys let down the other teams and wards then it is a shame.

the staff i encountered bar two or three on the day shift (surgical assess) had no ooomph whatsoever and after studying them while waiting for treatment for many hours actually seemed to enjoy being antagonistic.

they did bleet about being too busy but on the occassions i witnessed what they called busy eg like too busy too tiolet or attend folk this manifested as sitting in gaggles behind the desk with no signs of paperwork,computer work and the phones were very quiet.

If anything is asked of them it takes at least 2 attempts for it to be acted upon and a long period of time before attention if given at all.

If you disagree with anything or feel unhappy or question anything and this is usually because it contradicts what the last staff member told you apart from im busy its do you have the complaints number i can get it for you in a meloncholy tone.

I dont think they even realise how foolish they sound-maybe its because working conditions are poor behind the scenes and they want you to complain so things get acted upon who knows but its very concerning and very bizarre! as it got nearer to the shift ending and home time the pace did increase slightly.

i wasnt assessed on the ward by a nurse who apparently filled it in on my behalf when i looked at my nursing assess the following morning the stuff they had made up was all wrong in my case it didnt matter but in a vunerable ,elderly patient with poor skin it could mean a hell of alot. The nurse did come at gone 4 am to ask me to sign taht if my phone and belongings disappeared i would accept responsibility so the trust should give a point for this.

Anything else?

i hear poor stories about this hospital and have thought they sound far fetched but i think not so now.

The above is just skimming the surface of a terrible night and experience.

wriiten complaints seem to get nowhere so i think just best to avoid-probably do feel sorry for the matrons who have to try to manage and mop up this bunches attitudes

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Chesterfield Royal Hospital

What a sobering comment. I am so disappointed to read your thoughts. Sadly we can't change what's happened to you but I can certainly pass your posting on to the directorates who run these services; so they can reflect of how they have been perceived. If you'd like to tell us more call the Advice Centre on 01246 512640. Sarah Turner-Saint, Head of Communications

  • {{helpful}} of {{total()}} people think this response is helpful