"Bad experience at Musgrove Park Hospital."

About: Musgrove Park Hospital / General surgery

Posted by 641 (as the patient),

I was admitted to the hospital by ambulance, so I did not get a choice where I was going.

I felt that some of the nurses I saw were nice but others were horrible.

The lowest point was when during the night my drip came out. It was not something I did deliberately. The nurse seemed so angry, I found this very unprofessional. As I am in my 20s, I guessed she thought I was messing her about, I was ill and had very little energy. I found it very cruel.

As a vegetarian I thought the food choices were very poor. They explained that if my family brought in food it would have to be chilled food only, as all they could do was heat up things. Frozen food was unsuitable as they did not have time to heat it up. I lived on jacket potatoes, baked beans and vegetable burgers. This was not fun, as I was in hospital for many weeks.

After having a drip in for a week or two they stopped using it. Instead of taking it out they simply left it in my arm and did not clean it. Both my family and I asked them if this was ok, the nurses we asked always seemed to take this badly and said things such as "I am the nurse here". The skin around the drip got badly infected and hurt a lot, they took it out as it was bleeding. It took several months for the cut to heal, and I have a scar there as a reminder of the bad service I felt I received.

During my stay I was never offered a shower. It was only when family asked that I was given a bowl with soap to wash with.

I thought the tv/internet system is very over priced and when I did pay for it I found it did not work well. As the nurses around me appeared too busy nobody seemed to care or willing to help. I can understand that in a way, but I asked if they had a comment card for the system (so whoever was in charge of it could be made aware of the problems) and the nurses I asked just laughed at me.

The nicest moment was when I asked a nurse if she would give me her clementine, which she had brought in for lunch. She gave it to me and smiled. They only had apples or bananas available at the hospital.

Do you have your own story to share? Help make a difference. Tell your story

Responses

Response from Martine Price, Head of Patient Experience, Taunton and Somerset NHS Foundation Trust on 08/02/2012 at 13:20

I am really sorry that you had such a poor experience whilst you were a patient with us. I would be very keen to talk to you in more detail about the issues you raise. Please contact me on 01823 343536.

Your feedback is very important

Thank you

  • {{helpful}} of {{total()}} people think this response is helpful

Response from Lucy Nicholls, Development Officer, Somerset LINk on 09/02/2012 at 15:57

Hello,

Thank you for sharing your experience at Musgrove Park Hospital. I'm sorry that you had such a bad experience.

I'm writing from the Somerset Local Involvement Network (LINk) which is a patient-led group based in Somerset that uses feedback from patients to hold health and social care services to account. Stories like yours are really important to our work, as it helps us get a picture of what is working, and what is not working so well, in health services in the county.

Your story about the nice nurse giving you her clementine made me smile, but I'm sorry that your overall experience was not so positive.

I hope that you are feeling better now.

Thank you again for sharing your story.

Best wishes,

LUCY

  • {{helpful}} of {{total()}} people think this response is helpful