"An extremely poor orthopaedic & trauma clinic."

About: Royal Free Hospital

What I liked

The Orthopaedic Technician was was caring and friendly - the best thing about my visit.

What could be improved

The clinic reception staff did not give eye contact, were rude, uncommunicative and not helpful.

The clinic was disorganised and I always had to wait at least 1 hour to be seen. One time a nurse told me my notes were set aside from the pile and forgotten about and I had waiting 1 and 1/2 hours.

The consultant was an extremely bad communicator, patronising and then using jargon. He was often inflammatory saying things that were very upsetting. He did not explain my injury very well, my treatment plan, my recovery time and continuously refused to answer my questions, being vague, changing the subject or telling me something irrelevant. He was intimidating and at one point aggressive, defensive, bullying and walked out on my consultation.

I was asked to wait until pain went away until further treatment was given and when the pain didn't go away I was asked to wait again. No scans were taken to check to see if the injury had actually healed. (I transferred to another hospital, got a scan and was told it was healed - so was waiting with pain for no reason).

I was not copied into correspondence between the hospital and my GP so I didn't know what was going on.

When I complained directly to the consultant and via PALS to the head of the department I did not receive a response.

Anything else?

I do not recommend the Orthopaedic and Trauma clinic in this hospital.

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››

Responses

Response from Royal Free Hospital

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experiences and we value your feedback. We are terribly sorry that you were unhappy with your treatment and care and that you did not receive a response to your complaint.

If you would like to speak directly to a senior manager about your experiences please contact us at rfh.communications@nhs.net

  • {{helpful}} of {{total()}} people think this response is helpful