"One phone call made all the difference!"

About: St James's University Hospital

What I liked

Thankfully the consultant's secretary must have passed on my Mother's concerns. I believe this may have been discussed at the MDT and the medic Mum saw at the clinic rang her back.

He apologised for the situation and took time to address my Mother's concerns. He was polite, respectful, knowledgable and reassuring. Mum was in her home environment and was able to stay calm, listen, absorb the information and ask relevant questions.

He was able to clarify and check my Mother's understanding. His phone call had such a positive impact on my Mother's mental health and the whole family were able to enjoy Christmas.

We understand that healthcare professionals are often under immense pressure in clinical settings but good communication can not be under estimated.

So thank you to the clinician who took the time to make my Mother feel important and well informed!

What could be improved

This consultant wasn't availible in the clinic so my Mother was seen by another clinician. Unfortunately there was very very long wait to be seen so emotions were running high.

The consultation was over quickly and Mum came away confused and anxious.

Waiting times - approx 90 minutes for a 5 minute appointment is not acceptable!

Later Mum rang her consultant's secretary - she needed clarification.

However - I would like to leave a positive comment (See what I liked section)

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››

Responses

Response from Becky Riffel, NHS Leeds

Thank you for taking the time to share your positive experience on Patient Opinion. However I was sorry to hear that you had a long waiting time, and that the information wasnt particularly clear.

I shall pass your comments onto the Patient Relations Manager at the hospital.

  • {{helpful}} of {{total()}} people think this response is helpful