"Excellent medical staff, shame about the attitude..."

About: Lister Hospital

What I liked

I was treated at the colposcopy clinic, whilst the environment was dated and basic the standard of cleanliness was good. My appointment was exactly to time, the staff, nurse and doctor were extremely kind, understanding and professional.

When I returned after my treatment ( to be given bad news ) they were understanding, took time to explain everything to myself and partner and even offered to see me after they had finished the clinic in order to answer any questions - I could not have asked for better care or more compassion.

What could be improved

The clinic reception staff were off hand, rude in talking to one another whilst I stood waiting - they let down the excellent medical staff I saw later.

Anything else?

I and my partner were upset and tearful after being given bad news and we both felt very self consious on leaving the treatment roon to walk past people waiting for treatment or results - perhaps causing them additional worry over their treatment or outcome. Perhaps results should be given in a more private place, where my partner and I could have spent some time composing ourselves before leaving?

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››

Responses

Response from Lister Hospital

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts about your recent experience of the Lister's colposcopy clinic at what is clearly a difficult time for you and your family. Whilst we were pleased with your comments about how you were cared for by our clinical staff, we were disappointed to read about the receptions staff - we'll make sure that this is brought to their attention and they understand again their importance role in supporting patients. Your comment about the sharing of bad news is also very apposite - and we will feed this in to our colleagues too.

  • {{helpful}} of {{total()}} people think this response is helpful