"appt confirmation this difficult, satisfactory..."

About: Royal Free Hospital

What I liked

I have been referred to royal free and for the past 2 months been trying to get the appt confirmed and when it confirmed i was promised a letter to remind me and it never came. Nearing the due date, the 24th of October, I got on the phone again to be reminded of the time since I did not receive the promised letter, I was then being kicked from one dept to another and eventually got to where I was told it had been rebooked for the 7th of Nov for 8am. I tried changing this time as I would have to travel from Enfield. Again, kicked from pillar to post and the last number that I range 0207 317 7721 rang out - no answer. I have had to call my surgery to refer me to a different hospital as I couldn't cope with the stress of making it to royal free. I am raising this for you to mind your relationship with your patient without prejudice as other people in my predicament could be frustrated with such run-around affecting their illhealth.

What could be improved

Your switchboard staff should be very aware of all your depts in order to properly direct callers to an extension they know someone would be there also knowledgeable enough to deal with the caller. And most of all, carry out your promise of sending out a letter to patients to remind them of a suitable agreed appointment and avoid them incurring phone bills chasing up appts.

Thank you for this opportunity as I had to let you know how disappointed I was with Royal Free hospital of all hospitals!

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Royal Free Hospital

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experiences. We are sorry you had trouble arranging an appointment. We always welcome feedback about our services and we would encourage you to contact our Patient Advice and Liaison Service (PALS) to provide more information: http://tinyurl.com/2ez9hks

  • {{helpful}} of {{total()}} people think this response is helpful