"A very traumatic experience."

About: Northwick Park Hospital

What I liked

Our initial contact was with Children's A&E, where our granddaughter was treated reasonably well and without too much delay. However when they took a blood sample they failed to take enough for for tests to be done properly.

What could be improved

Our granddaughter (a toddler) needed MRI scans so was admitted to Jack's Place, the children's ward. Her management there was appalling. We were given minimal information. They attempted to get her to sleep on three separate days, force-feeding her sedatives while she was screaming and vomiting. On one occasion the doctor dropped the syringe on to the floor, but she still continued to use it to force sedative into the child without cleaning it. On the first day they failed to get her to sleep. On the second day she eventually slept and had her MRI scans, but these were unsatisfactory and we were asked to bring her back for a follow-up session. On that occasion they were late sedating her, and when she eventually went to sleep it took so long for a porter to turn up and then a doctor that she had been asleep for a whole hour before she reached the scanner, by which time she was wide awake again. No coordination. We didn't take her back for a repeat performance since she now appears to have developed a phobia of medical procedures and health service staff.

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Northwick Park Hospital

We were extremely sorry to learn of the issues raised in your email, which will be passed on to the appropriate manager to be looked into so that appropriate action can be taken. However, we would like to investigate the incidents you have described formally and would ask that you contact the Trust either in writing to The Chief Executive, Northwick Park Hospital, Watford Road, Harrow, HA1 3UJ, on the telephone to the Patient Relations Department (telephone number 020 8869 2026) or via email to Trust nwlh-tr.Trust@nhs.net

  • {{helpful}} of {{total()}} people think this response is helpful