"Absolutely awful"

About: Leighton Hospital

What I liked

going home

What could be improved

well a lot could of been improved i was treated like rubbish.i went in to hopital in october 2010 to be induced i waited in the waiting room for 6 and a half hours on the most unconfortable seats ever to then have a member of staff to come in and say sorry no beds go home come back tomoz very angry as i was i did and came back i got a bed that day but i was in for 2 days and not started to be induced and asked why its because there busy down stairs on the labour ward go home and get some sleep and come back again tomorrow by this point i was 3 weeks over due in pain every were and depressed so came back the next day again and this time hip hip horray i was going to labour ward to be induced at long last i was put straight on a drip and left midwife keep disapearing 2 days later in labour for 2 days straight as the drip was being put up high then low again i was getting very unwell i was asking for all pain relief going but kept being told your doing great and midwife left room again then i took a turn for the worst and it took me to become that unwell that i passed out and baby was destressed by all this when they got me back round i was over welemed by all the doctors and nurses in the room i was having all kinds of drips and needles shuffed in me i wasnt told what for day 3 of labour i got my epedural that i wanted and the doctor came in to say we lost babys heart beat and you will have to have an emergancey c secion think by this point i just wanted it over with so had the c secion i wanted scin to scin contact with my baby and the moment he was born i wasnt given my baby for scin to scin instead he was passed round the theatre like a doll 5 mins later i finally got to see my gorgous baby boy i then went in to the recovery room with this being my first baby i didnt have a clue what to do and was given a bottle and that was it so much for helpful staff not.when i got on to the ward the night nurse was lovley but the other nurses on that night were horrid i was

Anything else?

not allowed to feed my own baby i had to watch a stranger feed my baby i was very angry i then had a bit of sleep and got woken up at 7.15 in the morning time to get up i thought ok baby was still a sleep and i was woken up at this time why? 10 mins after that a very rude nurse came to me and said up on your feet and shower now baby will be fine we will keep an eye on him i was terrified at the thought i just had an operation and 7 hours later after that you exspect me to walk on my own and have a shower on my own it was a nightmere i couldnt even walk i was in sooo much pain i thought i was dying i couldnt bend down to pick my items up or anything i had to scream for help and to my releif it was the lovely nurse that greeted me thank god for that and she said what the hell are you doing in the shower room on your own i told her and she was very angry and said i should not have been pushed around to have a shower so quickly after an operation the poor lady had to help me get dressed thats how bad i was.at dinner time i was told to go get my dinner yet was told to stay in bed as i was becoming unwell again so i had to do with out food as they wouldnt bring me any i wasnt being lazy i was told dont move and rest while baby was a sleep 2 days later i begged to go home i really couldnt take anymore i was giving up on life thats how bad my time was here.i am now pregnant again and not looking forward to going back there if i can find another hopital i will be transfering there if i do end up in that horrid place again i will crawle out of there within 24 hrs as long as new baby ok i will not spend that much time in there again even if i do have another c secion like i say i will crawl no way will i stay in this place any longer than i have to be

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Leighton Hospital

Mid Cheshire Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust would like to thank you for taking the time to add your comments to this section of the NHS Choices website. We are very sorry to learn that you had such a negative experience when having your baby in October 2010. We note there were aspects of your care and staff who cared for you which you have said did treat you well, but we are very sorry that this standard was not consistent throughout your stay. There have been many changes and improvements made in relation to the maternity ward since you gave birth, including the appointment of a new Head of Midwifery and a new Ward Manager and we have received many positive comments from women who have been on the ward in recent months. In addition, all the midwives have attended Customer care training over the last 18 months. We would hope you would reconsider having your baby at Leighton Hospital and would offer you a meeting with one of our Advanced Midwifery Practitioners to be able to discuss this further. If you would like us to arrange this please contact the Patient Experience Manager telephone 01270 273961 or email patient.experience@mcht.nhs.uk In the meantime, if you would like to discuss your concerns, you can talk to our Patient Advice and Liaison Service in the strictest confidence. PALS acts independently when handling patient and family concerns, liaising with staff, managers and, where appropriate, other organisations. You can contact PALS by: • Calling into the PALS office in the main entrance reception area at Leighton Hospital, Monday to Friday 9.00am - 5.00pm • Telephoning: 01270 612410 (24 Hour answer machine.) • Faxing: 01270 501646 • Emailing: PALS@mcht.nhs.uk • Writing to: PALS, Leighton Hospital, Crewe, Cheshire, CW1 4QJ
  • {{helpful}} of {{total()}} people think this response is helpful