"recent heathcare"

About: Manchester Road Surgery

(as the patient),

I have been a patient at my local practice for over 40 years and have found it always to be excellent, with good ethics and a caring ethos.

However, I recently presented with a severe hip pain. After climbing a couple of mountains in the Lake District, I was unable to move without pain, and visited the practise. The doctor I saw on this occasion said that I obviously had arthritis, so what did I expect? The doctor said that if they sent everyone in the practise who presented with pains, for an x ray, then that would be half the patients. I was given stronger pain killers and sent on my way.

I returned when I was in even more in pain and saw another doctor. I was sent for an x ray, was told that the hip condition was severe and needed replacement, but told that I should 'manage' the condition for 3 years with physio, as Hip replacements only last 10-15 years. The fact that I am already 70, and lead, sorry, did lead, an active life, seemed to mean nothing.

By this time I was in severe, constant pain and visited yet another doctor, who gave me the Oxford Hip Score test. Why could the other two not have done that?? It was quick and easy and proved that I had a severe condition. I am now referred, and am waiting for surgery for a hip replacement.

To say that I am disappointed in my treatment is an understatement. This last doctor has been fantastic. Thorough in every way, no complaints. I actually thought that having been a patient at Manchester Road for all these years meant something. I thought that my patient history was available to see instantly, and that my upbeat attitude to health and fitness was evident. How wrong was I?

The physio, was the only one to acknowledge that fact. The physio and last doctor have been fantastic. Thank you for that.

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Alison Broadhead, Practice Manager, Manchester Road Surgery We are preparing to make a change

Thank you for contacting Patient Opinion and letting us know your concerns. I am very sorry that you have had a negative experience after being a loyal patient for so many years.

It isn’t clear from your post when you initially visited the surgery with hip pain. There was a period from January to March 2011 when we weren’t allowed to refer for hip surgery at all. This was as a result of budget restraints put in place by the PCT at that time. This financial year the current focus on reducing referrals means that doctors are under tremendous pressure not to refer to secondary care, they are meant to offer other options (if appropriate and dependant on the condition) first.

In your case however it is clear that the first doctor should have assessed you by doing the Oxford hip score, this would have, as you say proven that your condition was severe enough to warrant referral. Therefore I do apologise that you have experienced inconsistencies in how your condition has been dealt with.

The problems you experienced have been discussed at a meeting and all doctors will be made aware of the issues you raised and asked to refer appropriately.

Thank you again for taking the time to let us know about the problems you’ve had, unless we know what we’re doing wrong we can’t put it right!

  • {{helpful}} of {{total()}} people think this response is helpful