"Convenient location excellent surgical staff, poor..."

About: Southampton General Hospital

What I liked

Local hospital could carry out my surgery in a day under local. Surgeon was very friendly and explained everything. Support staff were good.

What could be improved

Communication during the morning to let me know what time I would be operated on. Arrived at 10am nil by mouth til 445pm was very hard. Food options afterwards were poor - very dry corn beef sandwich was all that was left. Could have done with a hot meal option considering the surgery finished at 530 and everyone on the ward was getting hot food.

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Southampton General Hospital

We’re pleased to hear your clinical care was good but thank you for your feedback about the issues with food and communication.

We’re sorry that you missed out on a hot meal and that your food choices were limited. Unfortunately it is not always possible to accurately predict which or how many patients will be requiring catering because we sometimes have to accommodate complex or urgent cases in our surgical lists.

However we agree that improvement could be made to catering and communication and this feedback has been shared with the cardiothoracic staff.

Unfortunately without knowing what procedure you were having it is hard to respond in more detail but please feel free to contact us via our pals@suht.swest.nhs.uk or 023 8079 8498 if you would like further information on the improvements we have planned. For example, in some areas we have started a pre assessment clinic and we have also been reviewing patient letters to ensure arrival times are more appropriate.

  • {{helpful}} of {{total()}} people think this response is helpful