"A very frightening and intimidating time."

About: Manchester Royal Infirmary

What I liked

The Doctors were professional and explained everything to me and also gave me the opportunity to ask questions. The porters and staff in Xray were absolutely fantastic, if all staff at MRI followed their example I wouldn't be so afraid to come back as an inpatient

What could be improved

I have never witnesssed such appalling nursing care, the ward is run for the benefit of staff rather than patients. Nurses ignored patients who were elderly and vulnerable, call bells not answered at times until another patient got out of bed and requested help for the lady opposite her, only to find staff congregated around the nurses station giggling and a couple were squirting water at each other via syringes! Some nurses very impatient and rude. I would say that some of the care that I saw was verging on cruel. Patients dignity and privacy not maintained, domestic staff coming behind curtains to collect cups while I was being seen by the Doctor. Fluid charts not maintained correctly I was asked at 2pm roughly what i had drank since 8am. I witnessed two nurses having a stand up argument in the middle of the ward and the rest of the staff just shrugged there shoulders and ignored the fact that patients were getting upset.

Anything else?

When one is ill common sense says that a healthy nutritional diet aids recovery. The food at Manchester Royal was dreadful, I did not eat a single meal. My family bought sandwiches in for me. Is it so difficult to provide a decent hot meal? The ward was very old and obviously needed an upgrade, one shower not working and the ward was dirty.

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››

Responses

Response from Manchester Royal Infirmary

Thank you for your feedback. We were very concerned to read your comments and we are sorry that your experience was not positive. We would like the opportunity to investigate the issues you have raised more fully and would be grateful if you could contact our Patient Advice and Liaison Service (PALs) on 0161 276 8686 or by emailing pals@cmft.nhs.uk

  • {{helpful}} of {{total()}} people think this response is helpful