"Poor treatment by some of the general nurses"

About: City Hospital campus / Urology

(as the patient),

I was admitted to the nottingham city hospital in March 2011 for left kidney removal, i was scared and I feel my stay at Gillies ward was poor. In my opinion, the nurse care that I experienced was poor. The nurses who cared for me didn't seem to like to be challenged at all. It ended up being the worst time of my life, mainly due to the nursing staff, the call bell was switched off and only the call light worked however if nurse's did not look up it was ignored. Some of the nurse's ignored my asking for certain requests ie canular removal and cathater to be removed even though it was a two second job, i had a canular in both hands they tissued my left hand which was swelling and scared me!

To be fair there were a couple of genuine staff, one was a nurse and one a mental health student, who were very kind, but they were the only two members of staff of all the ones I saw that I felt did a good job.

The food was bad, cold in the middle, and the water was vile, it had that nasty taste that says the tap was not left to run through, it was the same in the tea. When i complained i was told there was nothing wrong with it, i ended up buying bottled water from the WRVS trolly that came to the ward.

In my opinion, there appears to be a lack of communication on all levels, i was three days there when they decided i should have been on a renal diet. I could go on but when i look back i am appalled with myself for not making an offical complaint.

I never want to experience anything like it again, i work in Adult mental health service's, if i did not treat people with dignity and respect i would expect to be complained about. I believe you should treat people like you would like to be treated yourself.

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Nottingham University Hospitals NHS Trust

We are sorry to hear that your experience in our hospital was not to the standard you expected. You have highlighted several areas of concern in the customer and clinical service you received during your visit to our hospital. These are issues that do need to be addressed by us. Please could you contact our Complaints Team as a matter of urgency on 0800 183 0204 so we can investigate this immediately and provide you with a full response.

Update posted by Mrs B (the patient)

Hi. I was going to contact the above complaints department, however i decided against it, as I just want to put it behind me and move forward.

Looking back on my stay at Gillies ward, it could be improved if the staff were to communicate with the patient and each other. I don't believe it was the right ward for me, there were too many different cases on the ward.

It's a year in March when i had my operation, it's not good to keep negative thoughts.

I hope that by reading my story that it brings about some changes. Kind Regards.