"From a good experience 1st visit, to a terrible..."

About: The Great Western Hospital

What I liked

In a diferent occassion in a period of one week, I acompany a relative in a relapsing episode of a neurological condition where the person, lost the speech, could not physically eat and was not able to sleep. The initial reception in A&E was courteous and understanding, efficency and proffesionalism. Reasonable time waiting. Clean and some of the nurses seemed proffesional, that was before we cross the doors. Once in acute assesment unit things were not the same.

The security personal was great, although they were call, without necessity to acompany me out of the ward at 1:00am on a Saturday

What could be improved

My relative visited the same place 7 days before, it was then state in the records that was sufering from posible a neurological condition, on the initial visit it was clear the person was sufering from internal seizures, a letter from a neurologist showing the person was investigating the condition was given to the doctors in order to evaluate the situation.

Temporal paralisys, were interpreted at this second visit as a "delusional", not been able to eat due to disharcia was interpreted as "neglected" and not been able to sleep was explained as "wandering". When the person gain the speech on the second day of satying in ward, instead to proceed with neurological condition the person was section under section 2 and send to a mental unit. Logically her condition wortsened and we are now trying to undo the harm they have donne. Neuronal damage, frustration by the patient, suffering etc... is still going on...

Anything else?

It is incredible how a Doctor can make so huge mistake, how can a person been abuse base in a false medical history.

Evidence of what medication worked was not considered because was not for mental illness.

To return the speech to a person in a few hours after more than 20 not been able to speak is consider only "improving".

The ignorance in relation of medication that is use to diminish neurological activity in the muscle that is used often in the ward.

Ignoring the information that I gave them myself as my relative could not speak.

It is my understanding that before a person is section under mental health act physical illness should be ruled out.

Their investigation was based in blood test, the urine test (dark brown coulor with solute) was not investigate at all.

It is a very serious use as probably is not the only one, and we all know that psyquiatric drugs provoke among other physical illness, mental illness and it is understood that dopamina is essential for neuronal regenaration and one of the substances that is affected with psyquiatric drugs is dopamina, that is why people on this medication reduce their expectance of life 20 years.

Some nurses abuse from the patient by denying any complain or fact that is said, as soon as they know there is a possibility of a mental healt issue.

Some missing of integrity, not all of them.

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››

Responses

Response from The Great Western Hospital

Thank you for your positive feedback about our Emergency Department - we have shared this info with them. With regard to the rest of your experience, we are keen to learn more about your this. If you contact our Patient Advice and Liaison Team on pals.team@gwh.nhs.uk or by telephoning 01793 604031 who will look into the issues you have raised.

  • {{helpful}} of {{total()}} people think this response is helpful