"Deliberate neglect of my healthcare for two years."

About: NHS South East Coast Queen Elizabeth The Queen Mother Hospital / General surgery

(as the patient),

Following a colonoscopy in July 2009 I started to put on weight at an alarming rate. I consulted my GP who said that it was nothing to do with her and that she was not prepared to help.

Later when I developed breasts and shrinkage in the genital area I asked her again for help. She said that she did not see a medical problem and refused to even discuss my predicament.

When the results of a separate investigation initiated by the colonoscopy surgeon suggested that I had a hormone imbalance which was responsible for the weight increase and the growth of breasts I approached my GP again. I asked her to explain the consultants report but instead of doing so she lost her temper and accused me of bringing a laundry list to a 10 minute appointment. She failed to act upon the consultant endocrinologists report and told the practice manager that she wanted me taken off her list and to transfer me to the other doctor in the practice.

I visited the other doctor and asked him to discuss the consultants report and to advise me but he just said that it was a load of rubbish and wouldn't take note of it.

Neither doctor is prepared to address my very obvious problems. I am 77 years old, overweight by 26kg, carry two large female style breasts, my penis has shrunk to near vanishing point and I have chronic pains in my legs and feet. I am profoundly deaf.

Neither doctor will see me because they don't recognise any issues that need attention. I tried to make a complaint but I was told that there was nothing to investigate and I was told that any further attempts to complain would be rejected as the same complaint cannot be investigated a second time.

I feel that I have been abandoned by the NHS.

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››

Responses

Response from Steven Hams, Deputy Chief Nurse and Head of Quality, East Kent Hospitals University NHS Foundation Trust

Thank you for taking the time to feedback and I am sorry to hear of the dificulties you have experienced as a result of your treatment. I know that colleagues at NHS Eastern and Coastal are doing their utmost to resolve the problems you have highlighted.

  • {{helpful}} of {{total()}} people think this response is helpful