About: St Michael's Hospital (Bristol)

What could be improved

I have an appointment with the ultrasound department on the 19th july for my first ultrasound on my first pregnancy. i was sent the appointment by post and wanted to change the appointment as i am away that day. over the last 3 days i have rang the phone number on the letter 46 times and each time my call has been ignored. i have even rang and the phone has been engaged so i have rang back straight after and my call has still been ignored. how is this professional? and how, when aparrently, missed appointments cost the nhs alot of money every year, can this department justify ignoring calls to the line that is specifically for changing and cancelling appointments?

I have now decided to have my scan done privately as i am so unhappy with the service i have recieved. i have tried to ring the same number to cancel my appointment but no one has answered so my appointment with have to be yet another wasted appointment as i am unable to cancel it.

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from St Michael's Hospital

We are very sorry to hear that you have had a poor experience when trying to contacting us. We are presently undergoing some refurbishment in the ultrasound department at St Michaels. Both the reception and reporting areas have been decorated and despite the ongoing work, the service has been delivered as usual but under very difficult conditions. Some telephone numbers have been redirected, but we were not aware of anyone having trouble getting through until we saw your comment. We apologise that you have had to make other arrangements and that you no longer want an appointment with us, but if you should change your mind please note that the department is open from Mon – Fri (9am to 5pm) on telephone number 0117 342 5347.

  • {{helpful}} of {{total()}} people think this response is helpful