"left alot to be desired"

About: Norfolk & Norwich University Hospital

What I liked

some staff were friendly

What could be improved

respect that is given to patients.

Anything else?

The hospital didn't treat me like a person, i was made to feel like although my baby only had 50/50 chance of survival it wasn't serious. Not enough monitoring of my baby before birth, they didn't let my community midwife know my baby was going to be seriously ill, so i had to explain everything at my appiontment with her.

I was left in the delivery suite waiting room in labour for 2 hours then when they took me through and confirmed i was in labour they then said that there was no roon for my baby in intensive care so i would have to give birth elsewhere! so all the time i was waiting in the waiting room was wasted cos then they had to ring round several hospitals to find room for me and my unborn baby, so after several more hours i was transfered by a speeding ambulace to Leicester royal imfirmary, it was a very distressing experiance.

When me and my baby were transfered back to the hospital 2 weeks later after a very good experiance in Leicester we were again very distressed because they were understaffed so i was scared to ever leave my baby in the intensive care in case they neglected her. Several times i went to a nurse because my daughter was vomiting all over herself and they just looked at me like i was bothering them them when they were busy. Also i overheard 3 docotrs discussing my daughter at the reception desk, saying they couldn't believe she was doing this well she should be more ill, i found this very upsetting, especially as anyone passing by could have heard. Never again!

It seems like if you have a straightforward pregnancy and labour they are fine but if things are not straight forward they seem to fall apart.

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Norfolk & Norwich University Hospital

We're sorry you had a bad experience. We are in the process of expanding our Neonatal unit so that fewer women have to transfer to other specialist units further away. We'd be happy to discuss the problems you had and to try and address them if you'd like to get in touch with us.