"The patients are being hit by the cut backs"

About: Tameside General Hospital

(as the patient),

Excellent care by all staff of ward 44 TG Hospital. The staff should be given help as they were run off their feet from beginning of shift to the end.

Worst bits

The cut backs- always running out of laundry, sheets etc.

No butter for toast.

I provided all my own toiletries.

But to have no butter for toast only margarine is terrible. The patients are being hit by the cut backs.

Staff being thrown abuse at by patients. They stayed calm but they work hard enough. They should not have to put up with this.

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Philip Dylak, Director of Nursing, Tameside Hospital Foundation Trust

Thank you for posting these comments. I am pleased you received excellent care on ward 44. I am sorry that the ward ran out of laundry – whatever the reason for this, it is not due to cutbacks, and I will raise this matter with the relevant manager.

We switched from butter to Flora margarine some time ago. It is cheaper than butter, but also healthier. If a patient specifically requests butter then it can be provided.

Most patients who are admitted own a toothbrush, flannel and soap etc., so we do expect patients to supply their own toiletries where they are able to so do. This frees up our resources for other, direct care purposes.

I quite agree that staff should not have to put up with abuse from patients. The staff are doing their best to help, and certainly do not deserve this.

I hope you are much recovered now.

Best wishes

Philip Dylak

Director of Nursing

Would you like to help the hospital to improve its services further? We are currently looking for patients and carers to become involved in a development called “Patient Stories”. We want to know more about our services from the point of view of those who received them – what was good, bad, what could be improved, what should be changed. Want to know more about what’s involved?

Please contact Philip Dylak, Director of Nursing at philip.dylak@tgh.nhs.uk

  • {{helpful}} of {{total()}} people think this response is helpful