"I would have far preferred the..."

About: Northern General Hospital

What I liked

Nothing

What could be improved

The overall layout and signage of this place is a nightmare. Whether entreing via Barnsley or Herries Roads, an incredibly difficult (and often uphill) walk of about a mile was necessary. Yes, there are free buses, but these are so infrequent and poorly identified as to make it (almost) quicker to walk.

Anything else?

Largely pre-Victorian and thrown together, this hospital enjoys an almost-universal disapproval among both patients and visitors.

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››

Responses

Response from Northern General Hospital

Thank you very much for taking the time to tell us about your recent experience. We are very sorry to hear that you have found it so difficult to find your way around. We currently have a project ongoing which is looking at how to improve signage across the hospital as we are aware that it can be very difficult.

Should you have any further visits at the Northern General Hospital and would like to use the courtesy bus that drives around the site. The reception staff in the huntsman entrance will be able to advise on when the next bus is due and whereabouts it stops.

If you would like any further information on the work we are doing to imporve signage or the courtesy bus, please contact our patient services team on 0114 271 2400 or email PST@sth.nhs.uk

  • {{helpful}} of {{total()}} people think this response is helpful