"worrying and disgusted at junoir doctors..."

About: Royal Shrewsbury Hospital

What I liked

nothing on this visit

What could be improved

continuity of care, seeing a doctor who was only F1, couldnt take blood sample or put cannula in. said she would come back, didnt, went to lecture. a consultant put a cannula in ready for someone to take a blood test, he couldnt as he was only there to insert needle, nobody came to take any blood all day. was given pain relief but promised surgeon never arrived i was in severe pain 5 weeks post op gall bladder removal. arrived by ambulance at 9.30a.m at 3 p.m a junior doctor came and said i probably had a peptic ulcer, sent me home to see my gp. i travelled 26 miles home in agony with no discharge letter, and no blood test taken, and no pain relief. department was busy but i am 65yrs old and ill, and didnt even see a qualified senior doctor. came home worried, in pain, unable to eat at all. other experiences have been mixed but this time makes me worried about being taken there again.

Anything else?

i would like to make a formal complaint but do not know how to and am too ill and i may have to go there again.

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››

Responses

Response from Shrewsbury and Telford Hospital NHS Trust

Thank you for taking the time to raise these issues through NHS Choices.

We aim to provide the best possible services for all of our patients, and we are very disappointed that your experience has not matched the standards that we expect for everyone in our hospitals.

Unfortunately the NHS Choices website is anonymous, and your contact details are not shared with the Trust. We would therefore encourage you to contact the Trust directly to discuss the issues you have raised so that we can understand them in more detail, and make sure this helps us to improve our services.

Please call our Patient Advice and Liaison Service (PALS) on 0800 783 0057 or visit their office near the Main Ward Entrance. They aim to provide advice and support to patients, their families and carers; listen to your concerns, suggestions or queries; and help sort out problems quickly on your behalf. If you wish to make a formal complaint then the PALS service will be able to provide you with more information about how to do this.

You can also find out more on the Trust website at ww.sath.nhs.uk/patient_information/complaints.asp.

We look forward to hearing from you so that we can look into your concerns in more detail.

Response from Royal Shrewsbury Hospital

Thank you for your comments about the care you received at the Royal Shrewsbury Hospital.

We aim to provide the highest standard of care for all of our patients. Please accept our apologies that you did not find this to be the case.

Unfortunately the NHS Choices website does not share your contact information with the Trust. We would like to look into the issues you have raised in more detail and follow them up with the departments concerned. We would therefore encourage you to call our Patient Advice and Liaison Service (PALS) on 0800 783 0057 or visit their office near the Main Ward Entrance. They aim to: provide advice and support to patients, their families and carers; listen to your concerns, suggestions or queries; and, help sort out problems quickly on your behalf. If you wish to make a formal complaint then the PALS service will be able to provide you with more information about how to do this. You can also find out more on the Trust website at http://www.sath.nhs.uk/patients-and-visitors

Thanks again for taking the time and trouble to provide feedback about your care, and please do contact us so that we can look into this further.

  • {{helpful}} of {{total()}} people think this response is helpful