"Totally embarrassing trial without..."

About: Royal Shrewsbury Hospital

What I liked

Nurses were polite enough and did not mind being called upon when I needed them. The Day Surgery Discharge Lounge where I was for the day was clean and is a nice atmosphere.

What could be improved

I went for a trial without catheter on my bladder which was undertaken in the day surgery centre in the discharge lounge.

The problem was I was with other patients who saw me being severely incontinent in front of them all down my clothes as I had a trial without catheter for the day which I found very embarrassing and inappropriate as there was no privacy at all and it did concern the other patients who were sitting in the day surgery discharge lounge with me. I could not get to the toilet fast enough due to extremely severe urge incontinence.

The other problem was it was so obvious to the other patients as the nurse came and put a pad/protection underneath me on the chair which the other patients could see and the nurses left me still in front of the other patients in the day surgery discharge lounge.

Anything else?

Perhaps it would be much more dignified and private for the nurses to have moved me into another room to at least lessen the embarrassment that I and other patients had to suffer. It is just totally inappropriate and the nurses should have actually considered this as it is their job after all. They were not bothered at all about my dignity and privacy and it only added to my stress on that day.

They need training on patient dignity and privacy and on respecting upset patients when worried which I was and they did not do or say anything to alleviate my concern.

The other thing - protection - I was offered no protection for my incontinence which again served to make my stress worse. Please be organised and provide adequate protection.

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››

Responses

Response from Shrewsbury and Telford Hospital NHS Trust

Thank you for taking the time to raise these issues through NHS Choices. I apologise for the delay in replying to you.

We aim to provide the best possible services for all of our patients, and we are very disappointed that your experience has not matched the standards that we expect for everyone in our hospitals.

Unfortunately the NHS Choices website is anonymous, and your contact details are not shared with the Trust. We would therefore encourage you to contact the Trust directly to discuss the issues you have raised so that we can understand them in more detail, and make sure this helps us to improve our services.

Please call our Patient Advice and Liaison Service (PALS) on 0800 783 0057 or visit their office near the Main Ward Entrance. They aim to provide advice and support to patients, their families and carers; listen to your concerns, suggestions or queries; and help sort out problems quickly on your behalf. If you wish to make a formal complaint then the PALS service will be able to provide you with more information about how to do this.

You can also find out more on the Trust website at ww.sath.nhs.uk/patient_information/complaints.asp.

We look forward to hearing from you so that we can look into your concerns in more detail.

Response from Shrewsbury and Telford Hospital NHS Trust We have made a change

Further to your comments, we have spoken to the department concerned and they have discussed the issues as a team. In future, when an incontinent patient is having treatment, the team will make every effort to provide a sideroom for that patient.

We look forward to hearing from you, should you wish to make a formal complaint.

Response from Royal Shrewsbury Hospital

Thank you for your comments about the care you received at the Royal Shrewsbury Hospital.

We aim to provide the highest standard of care for all of our patients. Please accept our apologies that you did not find this to be the case, and that your experience clearly did not match our expectations for all of our patients.

Your feedback has been shared with the day surgery discharge lounge so that we can improve the care we provide.

Unfortunately the NHS Choices website does not share your contact information with the Trust. We would like to look into the issues you have raised in more detail and follow them up with the departments concerned. We would therefore encourage you to call our Patient Advice and Liaison Service (PALS) on 0800 783 0057 or visit their office near the Main Ward Entrance. They aim to: provide advice and support to patients, their families and carers; listen to your concerns, suggestions or queries; and, help sort out problems quickly on your behalf. If you wish to make a formal complaint then the PALS service will be able to provide you with more information about how to do this. You can also find out more on the Trust website at http://www.sath.nhs.uk/patients-and-visitors

Thanks again for taking the time and trouble to provide feedback about your care, and please do contact us so that we can look into this further.

  • {{helpful}} of {{total()}} people think this response is helpful