"My prescription was reduced without consulting me"

About: Guernsey House / Primary care addiction service Sheffield (PCASS)

(as the patient),

My doctor reduced my dose without consulting me it was brought down from 20 to 14 tablets.

It completely messed up two weeks of my life and interfered with my work for college.

When trying to contact the doctor I had to call 4 times before they rang me back and I was told I feel you need to reduce and asked to come in next week when my appointment was already booked for 8 weeks time.

My prescription was amended as I asked, but it turned out the following 6 weeks prescriptions were also wrong. I was also seen while a student was present which i wasn't comfortable with but felt rude saying no.

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Guernsey House

I am genuinely sorry to hear of the difficulties you have experienced at our clinic. We endeavour to treat all our patients as partners and to discuss your ongoing care together. Without knowing the specifc details of you case it sounds like this was not the experience you had and this is less than ideal.

Could I suggest that when a mistake or difficulty as important as this occurs you request to speak or meet the duty nurse of the day. This person is available to respond to unplanned clinical need (ie things outside of appointments) and whilst there may be a delay in their response depending on the demand each day they will always discuss your difficulties the same day either by telephone or at the clinic.

We do teach student doctors and nurses at the clinic and think this is vital to ensure substance misuse services continue to improve and future clinicians have experience of providing these services. Students find this extremely helpful. We ask patients if they mind a student observing the appointment but do not mind at all if this is not acceptable. Please do not feel this is rude or that it will adversely affect your care if you say no as this is perfectly ok.

Dr Gaynor Radley

Clinical Director

  • {{helpful}} of {{total()}} people think this response is helpful