"appalling"

About: York Hospital

What I liked

I am absolutely appalled that my mum, an 82 year old, should be asked to come into hospital at 8.00am for heart surgery, to be told to get ready for her operation, to be shown her bed and be on the trolley about to go down to the theatre, only to then be told that due to a last minute emergency, a bed was no longer available. This has now happened twice in the same hospital over the past couple of months. Although she will not complain, I imagine this Is putting her through undue strain and additional anxiety and can only make her condition worse. How can a hospital operate on a 'just in time basis' - it's a disaster waiting to happen.Heart surgeryEmergencyTrolleyVascular surgery

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››

Responses

Response from York Hospital

Thank you for your posting. We do take comments made very seriously and we would like the opportunity to investigate the particular concerns you have raised. If you have not already contacted us directly then please contact our Patient Experience Team on 01904 725137 or e.mail patientexperienceteam@york.nhs.uk and we will investigate your concerns fully and report our findings back to you.

  • {{helpful}} of {{total()}} people think this response is helpful