"fairly good apart from one rude midwife"

About: Princess Anne Hospital

Anything else?

After having a traumatic emergancy c-section I was transferred to a ward. I am a larger lady and was told by one midwife that as an obese mother my child would have no future and i should have considered becoming slim before having my son! I was extremely upset by her remarks and challenged her about what right she had to talk to me in this manner. Apparently as a medical proffessional she had every right to inform me of my faults?? She then proceeded to tell me that the reason i had a c-section was due to my weight and i had put my unborn child at risk. However the reason why i needed the procedure was because my baby didnt like the induction and became severely distressed and almost died during labour! I also lost a lot of blood and was in theatre for 5 hours! I ended up discharging myself 2 days early feeling like a complete failure as a woman. Apart from this one midwife everything else was as good as could be.ObesityConsiderateOpening hoursMidwife

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Princess Anne Hospital

We are sorry to hear that you were upset, because we seek to give the highest levels of care and support to women before, during and after birth. We would like to learn more and follow up your comments. Unfortunately we don’t get your contact details through the NHS Choices website, so please contact our Birth Afterthoughts service 023 8079 6834 so we can arrange for you to speak to a midwife, or find out more about this service at www.suht.nhs.uk/birthafterthoughts

  • {{helpful}} of {{total()}} people think this response is helpful