"Downright Dirty"

About: Royal United Hospital

What I liked

I regret to say I found this hospital down right dirty. As we entered the hospital we followed a gentleman wearing a doctors coat and overheard him on the phone complaining ‘the place had gone to the dogs’ also complaining the main restaurant had been closed down and that ‘slop’ was being served from troughs outside the Café. We did not realise he was talking about the hospital itself until we waked in through the main entrance doors…...We noticed the place was generally grubby,,,,,As we approached the café area we noticed mobile hot food trolleys……I entered the male toilets and the place really smelled appauling The urinals were absolutely filthy and although there was a paper towel dispenser there were no towels in it. I returned to the same area later and saw three cleaners outside the toilets. Expecting the toilets to have been cleaned I went back in to find them in exactly the same state. I came out and the cleaners had all disappeared……

Cleanliness in hospital is a fundamental basic. If you cant get that right what hope is there?

My other buig bear is that there is no signage to A&E from the main entrance.....When we asked at the help point we were given poor directions.......Again, this is a basic so why isnt iit in place?

What could be improved

General cleanliness and signageApproachableCleanlinessFoodOpening hoursTemperatureCanteenTelephoneToiletsDoctorsSignage

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Royal United Hospital

We are very sorry that this opinion has been formed of the RUH. We had some temporary issues with cleaning rotas which were addressed immediately and we were serving food from a temporary facility in the Atrium due to our main cafe being totally renovated. This has since re-opened and we also have a brand new cafe in the Atrium. The public toilets are cleaned and checked regularly and there is a sheet which has to be signed to confirm that the cleaning has been done. There is also provision for any member of the public to alert hospital staff if they find anything untoward in the toilets in the meantime.

Our standards of cleanliness and hygiene are very high and independent inspections by organsiations such as Dr Foster and the Care Quality Commission also confirm this. We hope that if you do have cause to visit the RUH again, your expereince will be a much improved one.

  • {{helpful}} of {{total()}} people think this response is helpful