"My first (and last) visit. Shocked that..."

About: Croydon University Hospital

What could be improved

This hospital is pretty arcane. Really poorly maintained. It should be bulldozed and rebuilt from scratch. The equipment is pretty poor and seems to be in short supply. Had to go to get my plastercast removed and the A&E did not have the right kit for removing fibreglass casts so tried to hack it off with a pair of scissors and an old fashioned pair of plaster cutters. Needless to say it didn't work. Other than that the general state of the hospital is poor. Staff are on the whole unfriendly and even unprofessional. Security guards treated patients with contempt. Other than in a life threatening situation I would not want to attend this hospital again!

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››

Responses

Response from Croydon University Hospital

We are sorry that you had a poor experience. If you would like to contact our PALS service with more details we can look into the specific circumstances surrounding your visit and give you a full explanation and apology. We do not have the equipment to remove fibre glass casts in A&E and this job is usually done in the plaster technicians room in the fracture clinic. If this didn’t happen in your case we would like to find out why so please contact PALS with more details. You can email them on pals@mayday.nhs.uk. Thank you.

  • {{helpful}} of {{total()}} people think this response is helpful