"I found Accident and Emergency to..."

About: Furness General Hospital

What I liked

I found Accident and Emergency to provide an excellent service. Although the doctors and nurses seemed very busy, they generally did an outstanding job. Doctors and nurses worked well together in A and E when the systems allowed them to do this, but they seemed under- supported by the structures in place at the hospital, such as path lab failing to return results in a timely manner. On the whole we were treated with dignity. I would recommend Accident and Emergency at this hospital.

What could be improved

Cardiology. 3 monthly appointments take 6 months to be arranged. Not all rooms are set up to allow patients privacy. One doctor was extremely rude and dismissive. Another was not aware - and seemed unable to find out - what medication had been prescribed. Doctors do not always appear to listen to what the patient is saying, and are unwilling to listen to patients or relatives when it comes to what other doctors have said about the case in the past. Patient notes seem to be disorganised and inaccessible to staff and therefore do not assist consultations or enhance continuity of care. Letters sent out to patients record inaccurate information about what information to bring to an appointment, which results in some doctors blaming the patient.

Anything else?

Perhaps heart patients in particular need to avoid unnecessary stress placed on them by inefficient systems and dismissive doctors?

Well done Accident and Emergency. You saved my husband's life. Be proud of succeeding in spite of the systems set up in your hospital!

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››

Responses

Response from Furness General Hospital

Thank you for taking the time to leave a comment about the recent experience of yourself and your husband at Furness General Hospital.Your positive feedback about A & E has been passed on to the appropriate members of staff.

I am sorry to hear that your experience of cardiology was not a positive one and that we did not get things right for you on this occasion.

We have been experiencing some issues with demand for the cardiology service and the capacity to deliver this,a situation which has been compounded by a number of unexpected sickness absences.

We are due to appoint a second cardiologist at the FGH site for an initial period of 6 months pending a permanent appointment.This should go some way to ease the pressures which you experienced.

The issue relating to the attitude of doctors has been brought to the attention of our Associate Medical Director who will raise this at the Doctors appraisal meeting.

Once again may I apologise for your experience .Should you wish to discuss this in more detail please do not hesitate to contact our Customer Care team on 01539 716621.

We place great value in the time people take to leave feedback about their expeirience in one of our hospitals. This feedback enables us to continually improve the services we offer and the experience our patients have whilst in our hospitals.

If you would like to be kept informed about developments at our hospitals, then please take a moment to sign up as a public member, you can do so via our website: http://www.mbht.nhs.uk/trust/how-to-become-a-member/

  • {{helpful}} of {{total()}} people think this response is helpful