"I have been waiting 6 months for surgery..."

About: Royal Sussex County Hospital

What could be improved

I have been waiting 6 months for surgery since been referred and have had problems and have in the meantime been unable to get blood test results ordered by my consultant. There was a problem having the blood tests in the first place. - when i called the phlebotomy department regarding my appointment I left 8 messages over 3 days which were never replied to. I still have been unable to get the results. I wanted to see my consultant to discuss options and treatment but was refused an appointment. I have been informed by the patient liason service that there is no chance of me recieving treatment/ surgery till at least February 2011 at the very earliest which will be 9 months after being referred and the service I have recieved from the hospital has been totally unacceptable. i am in pain and discpmfort and it seems that no-one has any interest in dealing with my symptoms.

Anything else?

What ahpeend to the 18 week rule set up in April 2010?

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››

Responses

Response from Royal Sussex County Hospital

We are sorry that you have not been happy with the standard of treatment and care you have received from us so far. We are not able to comment on the particulars of your case on this website. We would therefore encourage you to contact our Complaints Investigation Unit directly on 01273 696955 ext. 4020 so that we can properly investigate the events you describe and make sure that you treatment time meets the required standards.

  • {{helpful}} of {{total()}} people think this response is helpful