"The nurses looked after me exceptionally..."

About: Heartlands Hospital

What I liked

The nurses looked after me exceptionally well, the accommodation was very clean, and the meals were lovely also. The nurses company kept me going throughout the stay on the ward. Also, they were very quick with your orders.

What could be improved

I waited 3 days for my operation, and the nurses/doctors communication together was extremely poor! Throughout the 3 days of waiting, I was starved. The nurses forgot to put a drip in me, so I was dehydrated for over 48 hours, until they finally put one up. This made me worse than I actually was in the first place. Also, one of the staff nurses was extremely rude.

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Simon Jarvis, Head of Patient Engagement, Heart Of England NHS Foundation Trust We are preparing to make a change

picture of Simon Jarvis

Thank for your comments.Could you please contact our PALS department on 0121 424 1212 to discuss your concerns.

  • {{helpful}} of {{total()}} people think this response is helpful

Response from Heartlands Hospital

Thank you for your comments. We are happy to hear the nurses overall looked after you well and the area was clean etc. Your comments have been passed on to our Nursing area. However, we are always trying to improve our services and it would be really helpful if you were to contact our Patient Advice and Liasion Service (PALS) on (0121) 424 1212 or email pals@heartofengland.nhs.uk and provide them with more details so we can investigate this further.

  • {{helpful}} of {{total()}} people think this response is helpful