"Some staff were extremely good ..others..."

About: John Radcliffe Hospital

What I liked

Some staff were extremely good ..others far from the caring nursing staff hospitals should have .

What could be improved

Cleanliness ..disgusting.Sink filthy,bedside table not cleaned during my 6 day stay ..bathroom not cleaned and ran out of paper.

Disposal of dirty dressings and plastic needle covers etc ..disgusting .My dressing lobbed onto bedside table .

Care when dropping pills and picking them up ..digusting ..table by my bed for 2 days until I requested it be moved.

Replacing bed base after trying to find vein in foot not done ..dangerous.

Report of agonising ankle pain from canula site ,resulting in being unable to walk ..ignored ..told i could walk!!

Canula removed next day incase of infection

Leg swollen and sore resulting the following week in heparin jab and scans re blood clot !

Canula site in arm red/sore ..reported Friday pm ..measured Sat pm ..consultant not happy Sunday am..canula moved ..told cant go home until infection cleared up.

Told there was a phone call for me..it was for someone with completely different name !

Cherrys dropped by patient opposite ..still on floor when I was discharged 3 days later.

Anything else?

Trauma unit excellent ..A&E excellent....special plastics unit disgraceful..needs a complete clean and some staff need to be refreshed on hygene and patient care .

Scared silly of the hospital now .

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››

Responses

Response from John Radcliffe Hospital

We are so sorry that you were unhappy with your experience at the John Radcliffe Hospital.

If you would like to raise any of the issues you mention with us in person, please do contact our Patient Advice and Liaison Service (PALS), Monday to Friday 9.00am - 4.00pm on 01865 221473 / 740868, or email PALSJR@orh.nhs.uk

  • {{helpful}} of {{total()}} people think this response is helpful