"Over the last three years I have spent..."

About: City Hospital campus

What I liked

Over the last three years I have spent approx. seven weeks on varoius wards in the City Hospital.

I have found most wards to be clean and all the staff very efficient and helpful. The food was good especially for those with special dietary needs.


What could be improved

My only complaint is over the years I have developed a phoebia to needles due to a series of bad experiences caused by inexperienced Junior Doctors. I have tiny veins and only experienced Phlebotomists and Doctors seem to be able to take blood and insert a Canula without causing me excrutiating pain. Every time I am admitted and a Junior Doctor wants to take blood I tell them my problem and ask if a more experienced person can do it. They always say they will have one go and if it hurts they will get someone else. It seems to go up the pecking order until a senior Doctor eventually does the job. By this time all my decent veins (which are few) have been damaged and there is nowhere else available to take blood. In March I had excrutiating arm pain caused by three different Doctors trying to insert a Canula. It took four attempts. Both arms hurt for days afterwards.

Patients should not have to go through this trauma when ill. I know Junior Doctors have to learn but they should practice on willing people with good veins and respect Patients requests. I get the impression they do not like to go to their superiors and say they have failed at taking blood or inserting a Canula.

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from City Hospital campus

Thank you for feedback. You have highlighted several areas of concern that do need to be addressed by us. Please could you contact our Complaints Team on 0800 183 0204 so we can investigate this immediately and provide you with a full response.

  • {{helpful}} of {{total()}} people think this response is helpful