"I phoned the hospital with regards ..."

About: Westmorland General Hospital

What I liked

I phoned the hospital with regards to my Grandma being a patient, I was unsure which ward she was on and the main hospital phone number was quickly answered and my Grandma's ward located for me.

It has always seemed clean when I have visited in the past, and the staff friendly.

What could be improved

I phoned to get an update on my Grandma's progress and health after her having had a fall and operation in RLI before being transferred to Kendal. Given that all of the family live a 3+hour drive away from Kendal we would appreciate it if the staff were more informative about our relative's health and plans etc. Also, I was rather disappointed that I was unable to speak to my Grandma as the ward (Langdale North) only has one phone and it is not portable, I found this completely unsatisfactory given that my Grandma has no local family and so limited visitors. I do not remember having this issue when she was on Langdale South on a previous stay.

Anything else?

Staff need to be aware of family distances and aid the support of those networks for the patient's wellbeing!

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››

Responses

Response from Westmorland General Hospital

We’re sorry you were unhappy with aspects of your care with us. If you would like us to investigate further please contact our Patient Advice and Liaison Service on 01539 795 497. Many thanks for taking the time and trouble to comment on our services, and apologies for the delay in responding, we regularly review the comments and pass them on to the department concerned and continue to strive to improve the service we offer our patients.

  • {{helpful}} of {{total()}} people think this response is helpful