"I was there as my father had been ..."

About: Good Hope Hospital

What I liked

I was there as my father had been taken by ambulance at 4am on 8.4.10. The nurse was fantastic she couldn't have been any better, and interacted with my father with humour and respect. She was exceptional in all areas.

What could be improved

When I arrived with my mother to see my father we went to the A & E reception to be met by a receptionist who was not at all welcoming. She didn't smile or make us feel at all welcome. If that was the face of GHH no wonder there is so much criticism. You should be welcomed into an environment where you don't know what you are going to find. With this treatment you feel the whole experience is going to be poor.

Anything else?

It is a great shame for the people who give exceptional service and care that people like the receptionists at A & E at GHH are allowed to behave in such an unwelcoming manner. It was great luck for us to have the nurse care for my dad, and I am glad that the bad reception we met at the door did not continue through our experience.

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››

Responses

Response from Good Hope Hospital

Thank you for your comments. We are very happy that you were pleased with the care provided and in particular by the nurse.

On the other hand we are sorry to hear that you were unhappy with your experience at reception in A&E. Your comments have been passed on to the relevant departments. However, we are always trying to improve our services so it would be helpful if you were to contact our Patient Advice and Liasion Service (PALS) on (0121) 424 1212 or email pals@heartofengland.nhs.uk and provide them with more details.

  • {{helpful}} of {{total()}} people think this response is helpful