"My father has been treated here ..."

About: Westmorland General Hospital

What I liked

My father has been treated here before and has always spoken very highly of the attention and care received and from my visits to him, I was always impressed by the service, care, treatment and cleanliness etc

What could be improved

My father now needs further treatment and has been sent a letter "threatening" that, if not followed up in 2 weeks, you will "assume he no longer wishes to have his operation". The only way given to follow up is a phone number which I have now tried over 100 times over the last 3 days and left voicemail messages to which I have had no reply.

My father does want his operation and we are very worried about this delay and the possibility that he will be deemed to have not replied and therefore doesn't want the op.

I have tried other numbers also but to no avail - always being transferred back to the same answerphone message.

An attempt to contact PALS to see if they could help has also met with nil repsonse.

Anything else?

Most of the negative comments about WGH seem to relate to the pre-treatment - maps and communications. Clearly this area needs to be improved - it sets the wrong tone for a new patient when things are so difficult before even setting foot in the place.

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››

Responses

Response from Westmorland General Hospital

We’re sorry you were unhappy with aspects of your care with us. If you would like us to investigate further please contact our Patient Advice and Liaison Service on 01539 795 497. Many thanks for taking the time and trouble to comment on our services, and apologies for the delay in responding, we regularly review the comments and pass them on to the department concerned and continue to strive to improve the service we offer our patients.

  • {{helpful}} of {{total()}} people think this response is helpful