"The A & E Dr who saw me was ..."

About: St Mary's Hospital (London)

What I liked

The A & E Dr who saw me was very good and apologised for the delay in seeing me. He made sure to address the problem and provided a means for following up if necessary.

What could be improved

There are two staff who check people in on the night shift at St Mary's A & E and they are absolutely horrible to everyone. One is a woman and the other is a man. Their attitude to people in pain is uncaring and they do not make themselves helfpul at all and act as though they would like to ignore you when you are waiting in front of the check-in desk - sometimes not even acknowledging that you are sitting there waiting to be signed in. It seems as though they have no sense that we, the public, pay their salaries with our NI. One gets the sense that they are both in the wrong job!

Anything else?

On our last visit, a number of A & E cases had bled on the floor. My partner reported it to the triage nurse and she said that she would arrange for a cleaner to come in and clean it. Well, we were leaving A & E 5 1/2 hrs later after finally having been seen and that was when the floor was finally cleaned. It seems very strange and dangerous in this day and age to take so little care when they are asking us to clean our hands at every corner!

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››

Responses

Response from St Mary's Hospital

Thank you for your comments. We are pleased that you were happy with the care you received. However, we are sorry to learn that you had poor service from some of our staff and the issues you raise concerning hygiene standards. If you would like to discuss the issues you raise in more detail please contact our Patient Advice and Liaison Service (PALS) on 020 3313 0088 or by email pals@imperial.nhs.uk.

Ref 021

  • {{helpful}} of {{total()}} people think this response is helpful