"i came to minor injuries on 27/02/2008 ..."

About: Ilkeston Community Hospital

What I liked

i came to minor injuries on 27/02/2008 with my finger after waiting endless hours i was then sent to x ray another hour there i had to go to the dentist which i informed the desk a receptionist looked at my xray as i asked her if it was worth coming back later she said it looked like it needed strapping up again i returned at 5.00pm that day the receptionist said there was five in front of me the laid back attitude of the nurses was beyond me they saw one patient every half hour all day i decided to go home at 6pm after seeing a child being hit by a young woman in the waiting area after confronting her about her actions when she again went to hit the child outside and informing her that the front desk could see what she was doing i decided to leave again i returned 28th at 7.ooam to see my results of the x ray i was told by a nurse it looked ok from the xray i told her i was in pain for 2 weeks she said to take painkillers and if the radiographer saw anything wrong they would contact me avoid this hospital like the plague the clenliness in the waiting room as a lot to be considered look at the side of the drinks machine at the large cobweb and dust the left hand side if you want a laid back career work at ilkeston hospital i am still in bad pain with my finger and i am going for a second opinion

What could be improved

get new management in to put a rocket up the backsides of the staff this place is the nhs at its worse ever

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Ilkeston Community Hospital

Thank you for this feedback. We have looked into the matters you have raised. We have reviewed your visit to the Department. Patients are triaged upon arrival and prioritised according to the complexity of their presenting condition. On average in order to treat each patient comprehensively, assessing their needs and treatment plan can take up to 30 minutes and sometimes longer. I am glad you chose to return on the 28th to enable staff to review your condition.

Matron did go to the area you mentioned as having a large cobweb, she was unable to locate this. The department is in the process of having a deep clean and this area is expected to be completed this week. The carpet in the waiting room is also to be replaced by the end of March, 2008.

If you would like to come and meet myself and the Matron to discuss your concerns and observations please do not hesitate to get in contact with us.

  • {{helpful}} of {{total()}} people think this response is helpful