"The none medical staff such as ..."

About: Heartlands Hospital

(as the patient),

What I liked

The none medical staff such as the cleaners were very friendly and helpful

What could be improved

Communication, Cleanliness and attitude of staff

Anything else?

I was referred to the AMU area of the hospital by my GP as an urgent case,and upon arrival was told there had been a mistake and I should go to A&E.We did this and were left waiting for over 2 and a half hours only to be told that we should have stayed in AMU.There was a further wait here of over and hour, with no updates on how long we would be waiting for.When we were seen,we were left in a room with vomit on the floor,dirty bedsheets and food remains.When I was admitted,I asked for saline solution to store my contact lenses in and a gown to wear overnight, I was refused both.I was also told that I couldnt have any water because the staff were too busy and I was left without water for 15 hours (overnight).The following morning, when the doctor came to assess me he did not address me directly throughout the entire consultation.Generally I found communication between departments to be awful, and thought that communication between staff and patients could be greatly improved so that patients know what is happening.I found most of the staff I encountered to be unhelpful and rude and I will not be returning to this hospital.

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Heartlands Hospital

Thank you for your comments. We are sorry to hear that you were unhappy with your experience in A&E and AMU. Your comments have been passed on to the relevant departments. However, we are always trying to improve our services and it would be really helpful if you were to contact our Patient Advice and Liasion Service (PALS) on (0121) 424 1212 or email pals@heartofengland.nhs.uk and provide them with more details so we can investigate this further.

  • {{helpful}} of {{total()}} people think this response is helpful